Kentucky Duncan Tavern Historic Site
Duncan Tavern Historic Site is one of the finest examples of a Kentucky eighteenth century early settlement building. It was owned by Joseph Duncan, who had served during the Revolutionary War as a civilian armorer in the Illinois Campaign. By 1803 the tavern was called the Goddess of Liberty. Over the years it served as a tavern which leased rooms to travelers, a single-family residence, and by 1860, part was operated as a middle-class boarding house. Duncan Tavern, the oldest stone structure in Paris, was saved from the bulldozer in 1940, when it was purchased for $1 by Julia Spencer Ardery and her DAR Chapter, Jemima Johnson. This bargain came with the caveat that in one year the building would be cleaned up, renovated, and opened for educational programming. In 1941, the building's ownership was formally accepted by the Kentucky Society DAR Executive Board and has been the property and under the oversight of KSDAR ever since.
For more than 84 years, Kentucky Daughters have shared this historic property, telling the stories of the everyday activities of Bourbon County Kentuckians. In other words, it is a microcosm study of the uncommon “common” people of our Commonwealth. The museum is filled with artifacts and art, which by and large have been donated by Kentucky Daughters. The site also is home to the John Fox, Jr. Genealogical Library, which houses many unique publications. Both the museum and library are dependent on the generosity and the thousands of volunteer hours Kentucky Daughters have contributed.
To purchase this pin, a member must serve a minimum of five (5) volunteer hours within a calendar year. State Regent approval required for purchase.
This pin may only be worn by DAR members on the official Insignia ribbon according to the most current "Placement of DAR Insignia and Pins on Official Ribbon" document found on the Insignia Committee webpage.
This gold-filled pin measures 1" x 1 1/8".